Class 101 on auto transmission and torque converter

All discussions about V8 Rangers

Moderator: MalcolmV8

MalcolmV8
Supporting Member
SM: Yes

Class 101 on auto transmission and torque converter

Post by MalcolmV8 »

I've never worked on an auto transmission before. In fact I've never even owned one so this is all new to me. Just looking at the setup it would appear the torque converter and tranny are open to each other. Is this right? It looks like fluid can flow between the transmission and converter. If that's true then there's a gap where dirt can get in the tranny while the converter is removed and I should probably not use a garden hose to clean out the inside of the bell housing right?

Also the t-case is not bolted up to it right now and it appears I can see into the tranny like it's exposed. I'm afraid dirt could have gotten in there. What's the best way to flush out the tranny while it's on the stand and be sure I won't fire it up in the vehicle with any dirt inside.

Thanks
Malcolm
92 302 Ranger - sold
94 302 Ranger AWD - sold
07 BMW 335xi - tuned, boost turned up, E85 - sold
04 911 TT - to many mods to list. Over 600 All Wheel HP on pump gas - sold
2015 Coyote - daily driver
03 Cobra - 2.3 TVS on a built 12:1 CR motor with ported heads, cams, long tubes etc.
MD Racing Lean Protection Module
E85

Tuned by MD Racing

https://www.youtube.com/c/MalcolmV8
MercuRanger
SM: No

Post by MercuRanger »

Yeah, garden hose would be bad - it is open when the TC isn't in there. Personally, I like kerosene (diesel, home heating oil) for cleaning those types of things. It's petroleum based (so any leftover just "blends in" with the oil/tranny fluid), not very flammable (like gasoline), and will eventually evaporate. If you look at engine degreaser, it's pretty much just kerosene.