Need advice, hydrolic clutch problems

All discussions about V8 Rangers

Moderator: MalcolmV8

carvinmark
SM: No

Need advice, hydrolic clutch problems

Post by carvinmark »

I just put it back together, when I got the truck the previous owner said he drove it daily till he blew the motor and from what I see, it does look as if all these pieces were working properly for him. My Ranger has what I think is the OE clutch master cylinder and possably OE slave cylinder that is custom mounted to a piece of 1/4" thick metal and then bolted to the outside of the bellhousing with a plunger that is supposed to actuate the clutch fork. Something is not working cause I have not got enough movement to move the fork. This is not a pressure plate or disc problem, all new parts there. I have very little knowledge about these non linckage clutch set ups so I'm kind of lost as to what do I do next to diagnose? The pedal feels like it is trying but I have no use of the clutch. Also, is there a conversion to use a cable or linkage avaliable?
I want to drive this thing before it starts snowing here!
88 Ranger short bed, 5.0 HO, T5, 9", My driver, Thanks guys for your help
63 Falcon, chopped top, tubbed, many mods, sitting for many years, soon to have 331 and T5
60 Galaxie Starliner, chopped rat rod cruiser
Berrian 100" rail, Corvair 140+ 6 cylinder
00 Explorer, 4.0, AWD, daily driver
cgrey8
Supporting Member

Re: Need advice, hydrolic clutch problems

Post by cgrey8 »

The setup sounds right, although you may have air in the lines. Are you sure it is completely bled of all bubbles?