Chris or anyone - A/C questions inside

Sit back and relax. This is the place to chat about anything and everything.

Moderator: MalcolmV8

MalcolmV8
Supporting Member
SM: Yes

Chris or anyone - A/C questions inside

Post by MalcolmV8 »

Chris,

I completely forgot you're an HVAC technician by trade and should have asked you a long time ago. I've been having trouble with the A/C on my Tundra ever since I got it in 2008 and not sure what is causing the issues.

There have been many threads on it and much troubleshooting. This summer I attempted to tackle the problem yet once again. Here are two threads on it that pretty much explain it all.

http://acsource.net/acforum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=8701

and this one

http://www.tundrasolutions.com/forums/1 ... ta-tundra/

In summary I only get cooling when cruising down the highway. When I come to a stop the high side goes very high 425 ~ 450 PSI and the compressor cycles and vent temps are warm.
I've replaced the fan clutch, shroud is good and intact, I've pulled radiator and condenser apart and made sure there's no dirt or anything blocking air flow. I don't believe the issue to be air flow related. I think there's something wrong with the a/c system itself but not sure what.

Thanks
Malcolm
92 302 Ranger - sold
94 302 Ranger AWD - sold
07 BMW 335xi - tuned, boost turned up, E85 - sold
04 911 TT - to many mods to list. Over 600 All Wheel HP on pump gas - sold
2015 Coyote - daily driver
03 Cobra - 2.3 TVS on a built 12:1 CR motor with ported heads, cams, long tubes etc.
MD Racing Lean Protection Module
E85

Tuned by MD Racing

https://www.youtube.com/c/MalcolmV8
cgrey8
Supporting Member
SM: No

Re: Chris or anyone - A/C questions inside

Post by cgrey8 »

Here's my thought process.

When the high pressure side gets into the 300s, that's an indication that you have either too small of an orifice tube (assuming you have an orifice tube setup) or too much refrigerant in the system.