And the 331 project finally begins...

Sit back and relax. This is the place to chat about anything and everything.

Moderator: MalcolmV8

cgrey8
Supporting Member
SM: No

And the 331 project finally begins...

Post by cgrey8 »

It seems I've been talking about this project for the past 5 years now. But as of today, the project actually has an engine to begin work on. It won't be done any time soon. But at least this is a start. I was the winning bid on a 97 Explorer 5.0L off eBay for $280. The plan is to drive to North Carolina this weekend and pick it up.

I'm also buying aluminum and steel porting bits so I can port the heads and lower intake in the meantime. The head work, block work, and stroker kit will be much later in the year. But this will at least give me something to do in the meantime that feels like forward progress.
...Always Somethin'

89 Ranger Supercab, 331, ported GT40p heads w/1.6RRs, Crane Powermax 2020 cam, ported Explorer lower, FMS Explorer (GT40p) headers, aftermarket T5 'Z-Spec', 8.8" rear w/3.27s, Powertrax Locker, A9L w/Moates QuarterHorse, Innovate LC-1, James Duff traction bars, iDelta DC Fan controller

Admin of EECtuning.org
Dave
Supporting Member

Re: And the 331 project finally begins...

Post by Dave »

Well congrats Chris! I was bidding on one six months ago (think I posted pictures of it) but it finially went for $940. Best looking, most complete one I've ever seen on there. Going to give you something to work on during the Winter? Going in same truck or going to splurge and get another one, or do you still have that other one?
Dave
After thought also - If you are going with the Torque Monsters this time, order early. Just talked to him on Monday and he is really getting busy and backed up with header orders.
Last edited by Dave on Thu May 13, 2010 7:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
'66'Ranchero 302/5 speed
2015 Stage 3 Roush - rated at 670 hp
2000 Ext Cab/4 door swap project
2000 Ext Cab/4 door, Summer beater