hard starting when warm

All discussions about V8 Rangers

Moderator: MalcolmV8

gorgo
SM: No

hard starting when warm

Post by gorgo »

I switched to carb and when the truck is warmed up it is really hard to start. The only way it will start is to put the gas to the floor and crank till it starts. Is this a timing issue?
600 carb
10d before
Mix is 14.5:1 @ idle
4lbs fuel pressure
93 4X4 Long Box w/ 98 exployer 5.0, aod eld performer 650 carb
72 ford 3/4 4X4 HiBoy big block
cgrey8
Supporting Member

Re: hard starting when warm

Post by cgrey8 »

I have no experience with this on a carbed setup, but on EFI when this happens, it's an indication that the engine is trying to crank lean. The most common issue is people have updated their injectors but didn't update the cranking injector PW function that dictates how much fuel gets injected based on engine coolant temp.

So as it relates to carb, my guess is it is trying to crank lean. Since carbs have an accelerator pump, I'd try pushing the throttle a few times before trying to crank and see if that makes any difference. If it does, then the carb is trying to crank the engine lean. If it makes things worse, then the carb is likely trying to crank way too rich.